track virgin, stupid questions.

Gixxus Christ!

I'm very interested in doing a track day, just have no idea what gear I need for me and what all I have to do to my bike. I'm an aircraft mechanic so I'm familiar with safety wiring, does every bolt on the bike need wired? Drop some knowledge on me, track gurus.

• Upvote 1

Novice day is easy.

Bike:

Tape all headlights/taillights/turn signals

Have newer/good shape tires

You:

Full Face Helmet

Gauntlet style gloves

Over the ankle boots

Leather 2 piece or one piece suit

(The leather suit may be of a two piece construction, but most have a full circumference zipper. You can rent at track too).

Track day organizations like Motoseries rent the track. Motoseries runs quite a bit at Nelson and not sure who else this year. So you will have to meet the trackday organizations Novice requirements in this case Motoseries which can be found here http://www.motoseries.com/trackday_info.htm You can do a novice day there but through Motoseries.

Mid Ohio runs their own stuff. They have their own school/requirements but its basically same.

There is usually a strong OR crowd at Motoseries events. Jbot, APCh8r, Blue03636 all instruct the Novice group so you could tag along with a OR instructer and they will take care of you. I recommend Jbot :D

Heres Motoseries policy on textile....asking never hurt and renting/borrowing a set of leathers is an option

Full one piece Aerostich style suits are permitted for touring and cruiser style motorcycles in the Instructional group in lieu of leathers.

Track day organizations like Motoseries rent the track. Motoseries runs quite a bit at Nelson and not sure who else this year. So you will have to meet the trackday organizations Novice requirements in this case Motoseries which can be found here http://www.motoseries.com/trackday_info.htm You can do a novice day there but through Motoseries.

Mid Ohio runs their own stuff. They have their own school/requirements but its basically same.