What was your job while you were in college?

Guest JCroz91

Guest JCroz91
Im a freshman at OSU this year. But i also work full time at AAA. its not amazing $ or anything but its better than a fast food job or something. I know theres got to be a place around here to work that pays a little better than this for a 19 year old student. Did any of you guys have any pretty legit jobs for your age when you were in college? internships wouldnt really count considering most dont pay.

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Started off in typical retail making shit per hr.

Moved to waiting tables, cleared $80-$150 night. Then tended bar and did a little better and just plain had more fun. I'd absolutely do it again if I were your age. Food, beer/drinks, cool co-workers and cash in hand. Some will say they hate it, but I made it work and credit it with helping me with who I am today.

I eventually moved into hard-core sales. I grew up in the car biz with my family so it made sense to do that. I sold part time. Cleared roughly $48k/yr for the final two years with a free car and gas. Not bad but it wasn't going to be my career and I knew it. Really helped me stay debt free and buy my first place at age 24.

Guest Removed
i had 2 jobs...since going to school in lima 4 days a week, i worked at a speedway gas station up there, and did 2 days 3rd shift while i was home on weekends on top of that. plus fri-sunday i worked for a muffler shop, and managed the insta-lube oil change that ran along side their main store at the time.

Ops manager for the varsity swim team, $500/yr plus books. Certainly not massive amounts of "cash in hand," but by senior year, one quarter's worth of engineering books often rode into the $500+ realm, so it was still well worth it, and didn't require much time (except when we hosted conference championships), either.

Guest tbutera2112