What would you buy?

CBBaron

I am taking the CCW class in a couple weeks.

I have no experience with semi-auto pistols and very little experience with revolvers, but did grow up using shot guns and .22 to hunt.

I was thinking about getting a 9mm to use when I take the class and to practice with afterwards. I definitely want something for home defense and will probably want to carry once I am more comfortable with handling the weapon.

Price definitely does matter. One of the reasons for considering the 9mm as I understand that ammo to be generally more available and often cheaper than other defense rounds.

So should I get a carry piece like LC9?

or would I be better starting with a larger piece like an S&W MP or Glock?

Or should I just keep it simple with a .38 revolver?

Is there a good budget weapon I can start with to learn fundementals?

I am definitely no marksman and a complete newbie so things like a "smooth trigger" or "good balance" probably wont mean anything to me.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Craig

I was in the same boat as you when I started.

I ended up purchasing a Kahr CW9. Another Kahr option is the CM9 which is a bit smaller.

No safety, heavy trigger pull, comfortable in my hand, good sights, single stack, not extremely heavy.

It was my first handgun and I wanted something I could comfortably shoot a few hundred rounds through for range trips.

If your main purpose for getting it is to carry, get a gun that feels comfortable while carrying it. Always ask yourself what's the purpose of this before you buy it.

It was my first handgun and I wanted something I could comfortably shoot a few hundred rounds through for range trips.

If your main purpose for getting it is to carry, get a gun that feels comfortable while carrying it. Always ask yourself what's the purpose of this before you buy it.

I think thats the problem. I'd like a gun I could carry and shoot a few hundred rounds through for range trips. :(